Am addicted!

At some point last year, I was offered an opportunity to teach a card making class. At the time, I never thought much of the opportunity and figured it would be a great opportunity to give back. Little did I know I would get as much as I do from the experience.

My class consists of all women, all above 60yrs old, who want to stay active, and have a yearning to be creative. We get together once a week, and I teach them a few tricks. It is a wonderful group of women, and they have taught, and inspired me way more than I can say I have done for them. It also gives me an excuse to whip my camera out (like I need an excuse) take pictures of these creations so I can only say its a win win situation!

Not only do I get to teach them a little something, I get to learn from these incredible women who never hesitate to remind me they are older and wiser. I think in this day and age it is invaluable to be able to spend time with women this age, and listen to their stories so I always look forward to class and the dialogue that ensues every week.

I found myself enjoying preparing the next weeks lessons way more than I had enjoyed anything in a long time so what started as a once a week activity has now morphed in to something I do every moment I have a chance away from my mac and graphic design projects. The trick with working with seniors is that I have to be careful when I plan the lesson, not to create something that can prove frustrating to execute. So, with that said the challenge is always, keeping it simple, beautiful, creative, and fresh.

It always warms my heart to see the look on their faces when they are done with a project because it always makes them so proud and I hope that you enjoy viewing the cards as much as I enjoyed making them! ciao

Leave a comment